Cool Advocado & Chive Flower Salad

May 30, 2011 § 1 Comment

Spring.

The past month has been a little crazy, hence me not blogging, but I have been cooking. Actually,  I have been preparing food- in both the kitchen & in the garden.

Spring is one of my favorite times. Turing over soil, laying compost, watching seedlings mature & playing in the garden is my therapy. Each year I try to harness the Spring & Summer as a time to grow as much of my own food as possible.

I’m still new at all this, but each year I learn something vital to the process. The past three years my family & I have grown only vegetables and berries, but this year we are throwing 8 laying hens in the mix, saying some prayers & hoping for the best!

With spring here, so are the greens, the fresh herbs & the edible flowers, so appropriately I threw together this simple salad & served it over baked sweet potatoes with a little scoop of Greek yogurt.

Avocado & Chive Flower Salad:

2 hass avocados, 1 cup of flat leaf parsley, 1/2 cup chives, with flowers to garnish, 1/2 cup of fresh peppermint, 1 lime, sea salt, olive oil.

Chop all ingredients into similar size pieces. Toss with lime juice, salt & olive oil to taste. Garnish with chive flowers & refrigerate for 20 minutes or until ready to serve.

Enjoy, but don’t be deceived- these delicate chive flowers really give this light salad a kick.

§ One Response to Cool Advocado & Chive Flower Salad

  • Chickies! We got some more chicks this Spring, too. So much fun to play with. They grow up so fast too. I’ve been out of the internet world for a while, but caught up. Love all the recipes!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cool Advocado & Chive Flower Salad at Absolute Ambrosia.

meta

